16 lessons learned in 2016

2016 was a bizarre year. I swear somehow time sped up, yet at the same time I feel like I was moving in slow motion. And time keeps on ticking. As I look back on 2016, a year with meme-worthy reputation, I wanted to archive my annual review in a constructive and interesting way. A friend posted this question on social media, and I think it’s a worthy one to ponder…

“What did you learn in 2016?”

So, here goes. I learned…


And some snow shoveling techniques.

img_1403-1
A fire gutted our neighbor’s adjoining house while we slept in a bedroom filled with smoke. I now know with certainty my answer to the question “what 3 things would you save if your house was on fire?” Sweet chloe was one of those things, but she actually was the one who alerted us to the fire! She woke me up at 3am, and soon after fire rescue came and saved our home and belongings. We were so, so fortunate to have only smoke damage as the result of an event that could have been much more tragic.

img_1430
The aforementioned fire sparked a home search. Buying a house is complicated and stressful. But I know a lot more about the process and we are now home owners. We moved to Columbia Heights in northwest DC, and we secured my brother as a roommate! Happy times 🙂

img_1429-1

If you count college dorm rooms, this marks my 20th move. I’m done, at least for awhile.


I’ve also learned how to patch drywall, change light fixtures, and other miscellaneous home maintenance skills that come in handy for a house built in 1922.

img_1416-2
The aforementioned brother is teaching me!

img_1417-1
Speaking of duels…

img_1418-1
A trip to NYC and Spotify secured a place in our hearts for a favorite founding father.


It’s the bees knees.


I probably calculate the risk for too long before I take it, but still a good lesson.

I can hike 53 miles. In a row. With a backpack. While smiling (ok, I wasn’t smiling the entire time. But the scenery helped).


Here’s a hint.


A short educational trip to Havana enlightened us about the history, art, and culture of this fascinating country.


Washington and Montana have been on my bucket list, but Idaho was a nice surprise on our little northwest road trip. And its northern neighbor Alberta ain’t too shabby either.


Unplug, get outside, put the phone away. Explore more, create more, connect more.


I should be reminded everyday. I don’t deserve half of it.

Happy new year to all my friends and family! I’m so blessed to have you in my life.

What did you learn in 2016?

Leave a Reply

